On behalf of the Local Organising Committee, it is my pleasure to welcome everyone to Ottawa, Ontario, Canada for the 52nd Congress of the Societe Internationale d’Oncologie Pediatrique (SIOP).  The congress will take place from October 14 to 17, 2020.  The SIOP Congress is the premiere pediatric oncology conference and we are honoured to be hosting it in Ottawa.

SIOP 2020 will continue its spirit of international collaboration as oncologists, nurses, psychologists, surgeons, radiation oncologists, parents and other caregivers come together to learn about the most up to date information on pediatric cancer.  The medical, psychosocial and family expertise shared at these annual global Congresses deepens not only the collegiality in the pediatric oncology community but also strengthens networking, support and resources worldwide.  Ottawa is proud to host this forum where research, experience, challenges, opportunities, progress, novel therapies and diagnostic tools presented will make this so enriching for everyone who attends.

Ottawa is the capital of Canada and Fall is the most beautiful time of the year in the city.  The leaves are shades of red and yellow that is a true wonder of nature.  There are numerous site-seeing opportunities including the Parliament Buildings, inspiring memorials, national history and science museums, art galleries and so much more to discover – truly one of the best showcases of Canadian culture. The Congress venue is the Shaw Center in the heart of downtown Ottawa, adjacent to the historic Rideau Canal and ideally located steps from a variety of amenities, attractions and shopping.

I am very pleased to offer you a personal welcome on behalf of the Local Organizing Committee and we look forward to welcoming you at SIOP 2020!

Donna Johnston

Donna Johnston
SIOP 2020 Local Organising Committee Chair

On Behalf of the Local Organising Committee:

Lesleigh Abbott Jason Campbell Brennah Holley Kendra Rodden
Doaa Abdelfattah Marilyn Cassidy Tracy Jackson Manon Rollin
Oluwatoni Adeniyi Joanna Chan Melissa Johnson Virginia Sanchez-Rubio
Nathan Adolphe Chris Clement Dana Kennedy Sanaa Seblini
Abdullah Ali Hallie Coltin Robert Klaassen Ewurabena Simpson
Bader Allahyani Virginia Cyr Jocelyn Lamont Heloise Sirois-Leclerc
Ali Amid Krisann Dennis Mira Liebman Isabelle Sjoberg
Nicole Aubrey Nathalie Gervais Yaser Mohammad Sherley Telisma
Tejinder Bains Amy Givogue Melanie Parent Naomi Thick
Angélique Baron-Brunet Jacqueline Halton Pam Potter Jenna-Lee Tremblay
Mylene Bassal Lisa Halton Raveena Ramphal Andrea Walsh
Sarah Brandon Sue Hammond Graham Robinson Dakota Warkentin